The ANU Union

The ANU Union Inc. is a non-profit, student run body that operates a number of services and food outlets offering fresh affordable tasty meals and snacks within the Union building and around the ANU campus.  It provides students with a place to socialise and relax, is a leading live music venue and provides venues and catering for all types of functions.

“Live Uni Life”

It is our vision that the ANU Union should be the social heart of the ANU.  A place where students, staff and visitors can come to relax, eat and socialise.  We aim to provide our members with services that are appropriate to their needs.  As the ANU Union is owned by its members (students), all the profits go back into the business to continue the ongoing improvement of services.  It is hoped that by making the ANU Union the best it can be, we can assist students to fully engage in uni life.

History of the Union

The Union was set up in 1965 to provide a meeting place for students, graduates and staff.  The original charter indicated that the Union would be an incorporated body based on “sound business principles”.

The Union evolved from the Student’s Association.  It concentrated on small scale activities such as debates, films, music, food and even art exhibitions.  In 1965 the Union was established in what is now the Pauline Griffin Building and in 1973 it moved to its present building.













Stay Informed

We like to keep you up to date with our latest news so please subscribe to our periodic e-newsletter. You can see at a glance interesting updates, special offers and upcoming events.